Motorcycle Radio Antenna Question - Harley Davidson Street Forum - Street 500 and 750
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-20-2015, 07:14 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Is where I sleep
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Motorcycle Radio Antenna Question

Question,
Have a aftermarket motorcycle radio. It has a single wire for antenna. The antennas I've looked at have the same type end that a car would have. So is the single wire out of the radio it? Thats the antenna? Or is there a adapter to use for the aftermarket antennas?

Don
750, GI, Bassani muffler, Saddlebags, Radio, windshield, tach, and a working GI PRO
New2Harley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-20-2015, 07:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
if you could take a picture and post it then I may be able to advise you on what you need.
Rock270 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-20-2015, 08:51 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Is where I sleep
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
I'm using a cell, and to post pics I see its drag an drop.
But the wire is just a plain old wire, just like a speaker wire.

Any radio guerus? I got a pyle 100amp radio with ungodly 5in monster size 50w speakers. They look like head lights, I mounted them on the crash bars. Didn't like the look, I removed them, then bought 300w 3in speakers.

My problem is they are just not that loud and the radio volume only goes up to 30. Do I need a preamp or a amp?

Don
750, GI, Bassani muffler, Saddlebags, Radio, windshield, tach, and a working GI PRO
New2Harley is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 07-20-2015, 09:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by New2Harley View Post
I'm using a cell, and to post pics I see its drag an drop.
But the wire is just a plain old wire, just like a speaker wire.

Any radio guerus? I got a pyle 100amp radio with ungodly 5in monster size 50w speakers. They look like head lights, I mounted them on the crash bars. Didn't like the look, I removed them, then bought 300w 3in speakers.

My problem is they are just not that loud and the radio volume only goes up to 30. Do I need a preamp or a amp?
is there a hole in the back of the radio where a Motorola plug fits into? if so then an automotive antenna should work, the one loose wire may just be a radio chassis ground wire. ...also "beautyandthebeast" is a member here and seems I remember seeing pictures of her bike that had handlebar motorcycle speakers, might message her and ask her about how loud the volume is on those....personally i use a Bluetooth speakers/headset thru my iphone and Pandora for my mooosick!
Rock270 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with tech question! DaddyDevilKing Harley-Davidson 750 Street Tech 35 07-29-2018 06:22 AM
New motorcycle owner SHINE LOPEZ New Members Introduction 4 06-12-2015 12:14 PM
Motorcycle art. bbally Off-topic Discussion 7 09-25-2014 12:44 PM
A question for Stonefree... stude Harley-Davidson Street General Discussion 1 07-23-2014 11:39 AM
Question for the Testers... Livin On Harley-Davidson Street General Discussion 22 04-16-2014 11:50 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome