Blinkers - Harley Davidson Street Forum - Street 500 and 750
User Tag List

 3Likes
  • 1 Post By Pittsburghpilot
  • 1 Post By 8831lee
  • 1 Post By Pittsburghpilot
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 04-10-2019, 10:07 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
8831lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Elkin NC
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Blinkers

Hello everyone!! Question about blinkers. What is recommended out there. Which ones are lighted (on all the time. Not blinking of course!!) unlike current stock ones.. 2016 Street. Thanks!!!
8831lee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 04-11-2019, 12:57 PM
Member
 
Pittsburghpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
The 2016 model year doesn’t have a third wire to support “running lights”. I believe the 18’ and 19’ do. So I believe a mod called “blinker genie” will achieve the results you are looking for.......
SgtTDC likes this.
Pittsburghpilot is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 04-12-2019, 02:39 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
8831lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Elkin NC
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
I will check it out! Thanks!!
8831lee is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 Old 04-12-2019, 04:40 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
8831lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Elkin NC
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pittsburghpilot View Post
The 2016 model year doesn’t have a third wire to support “running lights”. I believe the 18’ and 19’ do. So I believe a mod called “blinker genie” will achieve the results you are looking for.......
Thanks for the tip!! I ordered a set. I will let everyone know how they do when I get them installed. Cheers!!
Clavinavi likes this.
8831lee is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-15-2019, 07:03 PM
Member
 
Pittsburghpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Please do I have been wanting to do that mode myself.
8831lee likes this.
Pittsburghpilot is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-21-2019, 08:52 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
8831lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Elkin NC
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
OK.. So I ended up having the HD shop install the "blinker Genie" Just had the rear done. They work great as far as having the lights on for added visibility. I had asked them to put a resistor in for the "fast" blinking but they did not.. I am going to add one for the front and get a different shop to install and add the resistor to (hopefully) slow the blinking down!! Be safe out there!!

Cheers!!
8831lee is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-25-2019, 05:58 PM
Member
 
Pittsburghpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Did you change out the rear lights that have three wires?
Pittsburghpilot is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-26-2019, 08:16 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
8831lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Elkin NC
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Not sure how many wires but yes I did the back ones. They light up well now!!
8831lee is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-27-2019, 05:26 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
You guys might be the ones to offer some advice if I just add on a little question here ...

Changing out the rear 'blinkers' (indicators in the uk 😉!!) ... Any specific load resistor required?
A4ron94 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-29-2019, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
8831lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Elkin NC
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Honestly I do not know.. I can do a lot of things but electrical is not one of them!! I can splice a wire or two, but that is it!!
8831lee is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome