Street 750 head lamp, turn signal and horn not working! - Harley Davidson Street Forum - Street 500 and 750
User Tag List

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 07-31-2014, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy Street 750 head lamp, turn signal and horn not working!

Hi friends, this is my first post here. I got my 750 twenty days ago. At the RTO office the guy touched the wiring to see the engine id hidden under it. since then my horn, head lamp and turn signal are not working. I am hassled about this. Please suggest how to troubleshoot myself as we do not have Harley dealership in Dehradun , my place of residence.

Waiting for your replies! Thanks a ton..
atulpundir is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 08-01-2014, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
welcome to the forum @atulpundir have you by any chance contacted the dealer about this?



harleyhoonigan is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 08-01-2014, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
It sounds like it is due to the wiring. Have you taken a closer look to see that all the wires are hooked up properly? Have you checked a wiring diagram?

Other than that I would take it to the dealer. It sounds like an easy problem to fix if you know what to look for.
Yusef is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 Old 08-01-2014, 12:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
This problem reported here means that wiring is not secure. Just touching wiring cannot otherwise lead to these kinda problems. I hope wiring would be secured in future.
Puneet is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 08-01-2014, 02:55 PM
Super Moderator
 
HarleyVest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
So did he just literally touch it or did he fiddle with the wiring? Maybe a loose a connection?

Ride Your Ride and Stay Alive.
HarleyVest is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 08-02-2014, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
I just can't imagine that it is a hard problem to fix, it might just be hard to find.
Testiphony is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 08-03-2014, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Too far north
Posts: 261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Garage
Sounds like when he moved the wiring to check the id #, he pulled a connector apart. Follow the wires that he moved and you should find it.
Rock270 likes this.
stude is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 08-02-2015, 11:50 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Friends,

I am facing the same issue with my Street 750, can any one advise what could be the cause, and how to resolve.
Has anyone else faced a similar issue???

Please Help

Preet Inder
+91- 9999048443
Preet Inder Singh is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 08-03-2015, 03:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Preet Inder Singh View Post
Friends,

I am facing the same issue with my Street 750, can any one advise what could be the cause, and how to resolve.
Has anyone else faced a similar issue???

Please Help

Preet Inder
+91- 9999048443
I had this when I was changing my bars. Easy fix

The firing loom that is by the front of the tank, there is a small room plug (black) that is unplugged, undo the tank and lift it up a little and plug it back in.

Been there , done that....

Ray
Rock270 likes this.
KiwiHOG is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 08-03-2015, 07:33 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by KiwiHOG View Post
I had this when I was changing my bars. Easy fix

The firing loom that is by the front of the tank, there is a small room plug (black) that is unplugged, undo the tank and lift it up a little and plug it back in.

Been there , done that....

Ray

Thank you So Much Ray

I was changing The bars as well, will try and remove the tank to reseat the plug, as soon as I get time. Is there any other fastener for the tank apart from the big one under the front seat?

additionally, is there a way we can re-route this cable, maybe from behind the left fork instead of going from its front, as this will provide a better leway, without having to replace / extend(tamper) it.
my new handlebar is a little bigger than the stock one, I am able to manage all the stock cables, except this one due to the size of hand control housing, which I was not able to slip between the headlight and the Tripple Tee...
Preet Inder Singh is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head light !!! Santosh kumar Harley-Davidson Street Parts & Accessories 79 12-30-2015 07:05 PM
Harley Davidson Street 750 LED Taillight and Mini Bullet Turn Signals harleyhoonigan Street Appearance & Modifications 0 12-12-2013 02:01 PM
Is it too late to fix the horn location? interestedobserver Street Appearance & Modifications 13 11-18-2013 02:38 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome