Thinking of Buying. Need help! - Harley Davidson Street Forum - Street 500 and 750
User Tag List

1Likes
  • 1 Post By Rock270

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-20-2015, 04:10 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Smile Thinking of Buying. Need help!

Hello.
5"7', 25 year old male living with gf in Bangalore India. I am a newbie to biking and I'm thinking of buying this bike. Is it advisable to start with a 750? I have been riding a 125cc for years now but I want a biggish bike of my own.
Also I wanted to know about the expenses as well. I make around Rs 60,000 per month and I am hoping to buy it on installment. What are tthe maintenance costs and fuel costs like? I will be riding in the city and outside, maybe up to 100 kms a day, twice a week. Please advise if this bike would be appropriate. Should I go for a baby ninja instead?
Appreciate your help!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 04-20-2015, 04:41 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Garage
Either the 500 or 750 will work just fine for your purposes. The 750 gets about 55mpg/88kpg fuel mileage and the 500 probably does a little better. Routine up keep is relatively inexpensive but "relative" is a relative word. LOL Basically it's change the oil/filter, check the belt tension, check tire pressures, and check the bolts to make sure they don't come loose. You can do it or have Harley do it. Always keep the motorcycle on a battery tender when not being used to keep the battery in good condition. Basically anything else is covered by warranty.

Always remember that for every mile of highway there are two miles of ditches.
post #3 of 5 Old 06-17-2015, 09:53 AM
MGG

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Hi;