5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 09-15-2014, 01:11 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
clutch lever span

I have relatively small hands and I am having problems with the span of the clutch lever. Talked to my dealer and they said it is not adjustable and that the only thing they could do was try to bend the clutch lever (this was not the service person, but the salesman). I know I can't be the only person with small hands, and as I am new to motorcycles this year I do not have a lot of knowledge yet. Do they sell adjustable levers or levers that are maybe bent more to accommodate smaller hands? I do not have the same problem with the brake lever, the span on that is almost an inch less than the clutch lever.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 09-15-2014, 02:25 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
I Know What You're Talking About

Me, too: New rider, smaller hands. I can manage the clutch fine and usually have quick smooth gear changes but my left hand feels the strain after riding for a bit while my right hand does not. Love to hear of an adjustment or fix from you more experienced guys.
post #3 of 12 Old 09-15-2014, 03:25 PM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by webertiger View Post
Me, too: New rider, smaller hands. I can manage the clutch fine and usually have quick smooth gear changes but my left hand feels the strain after riding for a bit while my right hand does not. Love to hear of an adjustment or fix from you more experienced guys.

You're just using muscles that you haven't used before and it just takes a little time to develop them. Obviously you use the clutch a lot more than the front brake.

Always remember that for every mile of highway there are two miles of ditches.

post #4 of 12 Old 09-15-2014, 03:29 PM
Super Moderator

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jolt1972 View Post