New handlebars without new cables?? - Harley Davidson Street Forum - Street 500 and 750
User Tag List

 3Likes
  • 1 Post By tony tbags
  • 2 Post By Jmiske1
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 08-24-2016, 10:29 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
New handlebars without new cables??

When I looked into getting drag bars for my 750, I ordered the ones available on the HD website.. They told me I would've had to pay another $600 for new cables because they weren't long enough.. I by no means have the tools or know how to actually do it myself. I like the biltwell trackers but will I need new cables if they're too long or too short? Or does anyone have a suggestion on a set of bars that will give me a more aggressive position without needing new cables?
Ricky5445 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 08-24-2016, 10:38 AM
Member
 
NEGENCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky5445 View Post
When I looked into getting drag bars for my 750, I ordered the ones available on the HD website.. They told me I would've had to pay another $600 for new cables because they weren't long enough.. I by no means have the tools or know how to actually do it myself. I like the biltwell trackers but will I need new cables if they're too long or too short? Or does anyone have a suggestion on a set of bars that will give me a more aggressive position without needing new cables?
Hey Ricky I dont know if this will help but I just did the Harley drag bars on my 500 and used all the stock cables with no issues.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0967.JPG (90.3 KB, 57 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0968 (2).JPG (103.8 KB, 50 views)
NEGENCH is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 08-24-2016, 11:17 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NEGENCH View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky5445 View Post
When I looked into getting drag bars for my 750, I ordered the ones available on the HD website.. They told me I would've had to pay another $600 for new cables because they weren't long enough.. I by no means have the tools or know how to actually do it myself. I like the biltwell trackers but will I need new cables if they're too long or too short? Or does anyone have a suggestion on a set of bars that will give me a more aggressive position without needing new cables?
Hey Ricky I dont know if this will help but I just did the Harley drag bars on my 500 and used all the stock cables with no issues.

Those look great!! Which bars are those? And did you have to reroute them in any way? Again in going to have my local Harley dealership install them but last time I tried with the bars on the HD website they told me I'd need new ones
Ricky5445 is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 08-24-2016, 11:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
I also have drag bars, no need for different cables. I had my dealer install them, charged 1 hour of labor.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bike1.jpg (99.4 KB, 41 views)
Alocos likes this.
tony tbags is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-24-2016, 11:23 AM
Member
 
NEGENCH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky5445 View Post
Those look great!! Which bars are those? And did you have to reroute them in any way? Again in going to have my local Harley dealership install them but last time I tried with the bars on the HD website they told me I'd need new ones
Those are the Harley-Davidson drag bars. I don't know what a dealer will tell you if you have them install the bars as I put mine on myself and no I didn't have to reroute anything other than cut the zip ties off and put new ones on when done.
NEGENCH is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-24-2016, 11:33 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NEGENCH View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky5445 View Post
Those look great!! Which bars are those? And did you have to reroute them in any way? Again in going to have my local Harley dealership install them but last time I tried with the bars on the HD website they told me I'd need new ones
Those are the Harley-Davidson drag bars. I don't know what a dealer will tell you if you have them install the bars as I put mine on myself and no I didn't have to reroute anything other than cut the zip ties off and put new ones on when done.
They told me for those exact bars I would need new cables. I guess im ping to look into doing it myself. Doesn't seem too difficult based off a lot of people doing it I figure.
Ricky5445 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 08-25-2016, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
I have drag bars on mine. It's an easy install to do yourself. No new cables required. Only thing I double checked was the holes before I drilled for the control housings
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image_1472153633595.jpg (294.2 KB, 43 views)
BodybagJonny and Alocos like this.
Jmiske1 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extended cables with 15 inch apes chbart Street Appearance & Modifications 0 06-16-2016 02:55 PM
Anybody changed handlebars? Nowgfstcat Harley-Davidson Street General Discussion 7 01-11-2016 09:18 AM
Reduced reach handlebars Nowgfstcat Harley-Davidson Street General Discussion 1 09-24-2015 05:39 PM
Clip on Handlebars leeskyrme Street Appearance & Modifications 9 08-31-2015 10:48 AM
Throttle and clutch cables HowlOnWheels Harley-Davidson 750 Street Tech 30 03-14-2015 05:13 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome