luggage Rack help - Harley Davidson Street Forum - Street 500 and 750
User Tag List

 6Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 04-15-2015, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
luggage Rack help

Hey guys, I trying to get my luggage rack on and I having a problem with the fender bolts. Is there an easy way I using an allen key Is the right tool or am I just going crazy?

thanks
RJWW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 04-15-2015, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
CO WanderZest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Garage
Thumbs up

Yes, an Allen Wrench is the correct tool. You may need a longer Allen Wrench to get enough torque on the bolt. Or even a socket Allen tool which can be used with socket wrench to get more torque. Those tend to be kind of expensive for a singe use kind of item. If you are having to apply a lot of torque to loosen the bolt you want to make sure it is fitting very well to avoid stripping the bolt head.
Good Luck.
AYEDEE likes this.

Not all those who wander are lost.
CO WanderZest is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 04-15-2015, 08:09 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
thanks I got one out with my allen key Now I think they the others are striped
Thanks for the help
RJWW is offline  
 
post #4 of 26 Old 04-15-2015, 08:42 PM
Senior Member
 
CO WanderZest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Garage
Sorry to hear about the stipped bolts. When Allen bolts get stripped it can be the worst. The stripping tends to happen at the top of the hole. You might be able to get the bolts to move by getting a socket Allen wrench and hammering it down into the hole before attaching the socket wrench. Then attach the socket wrench and very very carefully increasing pressure to turn it. Can you tell I've done this myself? Best of luck. I believe the mounting kit has new bolts, so hopefully you can get the others out and then put in the fresh ones.
AYEDEE and Big Rus like this.

Not all those who wander are lost.
CO WanderZest is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 04-16-2015, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
I did the exact same thing. I tried to use an Allen wrench, but those bolts have locktite on them. A hex socket attached to a socket wrench did the trick. I stripped one of the bolts so bad, it was hopeless. SOOO...off to the auto parts store for an "easy out" kit. The kit comes with a drill bit and another bit. I drilled a hole with the drill bit, hammered in the other bit, then used a socket on the second bit to remove the bolt.
Sh4dowzJudgment likes this.
Obtuse is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 04-18-2015, 05:36 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
All but but one out. I tried everything and it won't budge
RJWW is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 04-18-2015, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Finally it came out after 3 days hahah

Last edited by RJWW; 04-18-2015 at 06:17 PM.
RJWW is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 04-18-2015, 08:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJWW View Post
thanks I got one out with my allen key Now I think they the others are striped
Thanks for the help
congrats!!!
ahok19 is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 04-19-2015, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
CO WanderZest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Garage
Congratualations!

Good job. Glad to learn that you got that accomplished. Enjoy the rack and the bike.

Not all those who wander are lost.
CO WanderZest is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 04-24-2015, 08:35 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
What the dealer told me

I had the exact problem. I stripped the first bolt. I took it to my dealer who proceeded to strip the next three. Once they got them out, they told me that the specification called for blue loctite and the factory put red loctite on them. They remarked that they would see a whole bunch more of this in their future. You didn't do anything wrong.
RJWW likes this.
IYAAYAS is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome