LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 02-17-2017, 01:56 PM Thread Starter

Location: Southwest Iowa with more than a little time spent in Ames
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Noob in Iowa

Hi! My name is Paul and I'm a noob. I had never owned nor ridden a Harley nor any other kind of motorcycle outside the MSF course until I picked up my 2016 xg750 last weekend. That was probably a mistake as it hurts more to drop a new bike instead of a used one, but here I am.

Riding a motorcycle wasn't anything I gave any serious consideration to until a couple of years ago. I split my time between a job site in central Iowa and a home I own near family 170 miles to the southwest. My two old cars were having the wheels run off of them and some financial setbacks had me questioning whether I could finance a replacement car. I took the MSF course late in 2015 and set aside enough cash for either a used bike or as down payment for a used car.

Things worked out for the car, but almost two years later and I was still running the wheels off of one old car and one not quite new car. Something had to give. I had continued to pick up riding gear when I found it cheap and looked into small motorcycles and maxi scooters for my commute.

Last spring I wandered into Loess Hills H-D and they showed me a new xg750. My daily commute plus some errands while I'm working is about 40 miles a day, mostly over paved, lightly traveled county roads and state highways. A few times a year it would be nice to make the trip down to the house on the bike instead of in the car, which can also be done on state highways. The xg750 seemed about right, or at least the best fit for my needs that H-D offered.