LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-10-2018, 07:24 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Newbie Questions

So I'm not new to motorcycles but I am new to the Harley Davidson and the Street line. I have a couple of questions that I probably already know the answer to but confirmation from a guru would make me feel better.

1. The Clutch - coming from sport bikes(Triumph Speed Four) the clutch on the 750 has a lot a travel before it begins to engage. Is this something I need to learn to live with or can it be adjusted to be a little more progressive?

2. Washing the bike - my last bike I just hosed off with soap and water, blew dry with a blower, shined the exhaust and maybe put a little wax on the tank. I have project bike I'm working on(80 Yamaha XS650) that I attempted to wash the same way and I fried the ignition unit which has made me a little leery of just hosing the bike down.

Other than those 2 questions I love the bike, I've put about 60 miles on it since I picked it up last night.

-Clyde
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 07-12-2018, 06:26 AM

Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Garage
The clutch travel is just something you will have to get used to. It is possible to adjust it a bit, but it was basically designed like that. The washing part is interesting. You may have noticed that there are lots of exposed wires and electrical components/connectors. I basically covered most of those up with a cable cover. It makes the overall appearance cleaner and it is a bit more protected from dirt and water. Of course you dont want to point your hose and running water on those weak parts. After I got my bike I added a K&N air filter and that is exposed as well - just an area to avoid. Ride safe!
post #3 of 7 Old 07-12-2018, 08:08 PM

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 205 Post(s)
Garage