Harley Davidson Street Forums banner

Stage 1 upgrade

19K views 19 replies 5 participants last post by  MZBKA 
#1 ·
Hi all. Sorry for the silly question — I’m new to all of this!

I’d like to do a stage one upgrade to my 2019 Street 750. I plan on installing the Screamin’ Eagle muffler and air intake....but if I do this I have to recalibrate the fuel. So I planned on buying the SE Street Tuner, which seems easy enough to use.

However, when I was talking to some guys at the HD dealership, they said that — in addition — I’d have to bring in the bike to have the fuel calibrated. Is this right? Can’t I do a stage one upgrade on my own? Why do I need to buy the Street Tuner if I need to bring the bike in for calibration anyways?

Thanks in advance for any help or clarification!

#2 ·
#8 ·
HD will want you to take your bike into them as they can then charge you the earth for tuning it. In reality they can do no more than you would be likely to do with a tuner you can buy.

I fitted the Screamin Eagle air filter (which by the way is manufactured by K&N) and a Loose Cannon GP exhaust (which sounds the dogs b0ll0cks!) and I auto tuned it with an FP3. The bike purrs lovely at tickover and runs like a dream!

One thing to consider, if you are tuning it yourself and a fault later develops with the bike which means you have to return to your dealer, the dealer will be able to tell that you have altered the ECU map and may well try to get out of any warranty claim by suggesting that by altering the map you may have contributed to the problem!

Personally I do servicing etc on my 2018 machine myself so it was not a consideration for me ;)

#9 ·