Harley Davidson Street Forums banner

Street 500 or 750 for a big guy

23K views 17 replies 9 participants last post by  StoneFree 
#1 ·
Hi everyone,

Just to give a quick intro, I'm a new rider looking to buy my first motorcycle. I will be driving 65 miles a day on the freeway and about 5 a day in the city.

I'm a big guy, wide not tall. I'm 5'9 and about 275lb, I have ridden the Street 500, Superlow 883, Vulcan 900 and Triumph Speedmaster. The Street had the best posture, comfort and weight for what I am looking for.

I felt comfortable enough on the 883 and larger bikes, I'm a pretty mild tempered driver so I don't typically try to get up to speed within a matter of a couple of seconds.

I plan on adding a windshield to the Street. It doesn't look the greatest, I know, but my back was injured in a car accident a few years back and is finally good enough to ride, however any pressure I can reduce on my hour ride to work would be great.

Currently the only other plan to change anything on this bike is the mirror extensions since I have broad shoulders and felt I was having to look around me and not at the traffic. Black Mirror Extension Kit-56000042 | Handlebar Mounted Mirrors | Official Harley-Davidson Online Store

So, after my (not so) quick introduction. I'm curious if I should go with the 750 or the 500. I am looking to get the best MPG while still having enough power to get out of a sticky situation when needed.

Thanks in advanced for any and all info!

See less See more
#2 ·
Go with the Street 750 for the few dollars more and for the freeway driving it would be the best choice. But with that said, please keep in mind that you’re a new rider to motorcycles and long extensive trips like you’re talking about is mainly for the more experience rider not for a newbie.

If this is your only option for transportation then please be very careful and alert when riding, there are many tricks and leaning experiences you will have to go through…and that takes time!