Street 500 or 750 for a big guy - Harley Davidson Street Forum - Street 500 and 750
User Tag List

7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 10-13-2014, 03:03 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Question Street 500 or 750 for a big guy

Hi everyone,

Just to give a quick intro, I'm a new rider looking to buy my first motorcycle. I will be driving 65 miles a day on the freeway and about 5 a day in the city.

I'm a big guy, wide not tall. I'm 5'9 and about 275lb, I have ridden the Street 500, Superlow 883, Vulcan 900 and Triumph Speedmaster. The Street had the best posture, comfort and weight for what I am looking for.

I felt comfortable enough on the 883 and larger bikes, I'm a pretty mild tempered driver so I don't typically try to get up to speed within a matter of a couple of seconds.

I plan on adding a windshield to the Street. It doesn't look the greatest, I know, but my back was injured in a car accident a few years back and is finally good enough to ride, however any pressure I can reduce on my hour ride to work would be great.

Currently the only other plan to change anything on this bike is the mirror extensions since I have broad shoulders and felt I was having to look around me and not at the traffic. Black Mirror Extension Kit-56000042 | Handlebar Mounted Mirrors | Official Harley-Davidson Online Store

So, after my (not so) quick introduction. I'm curious if I should go with the 750 or the 500. I am looking to get the best MPG while still having enough power to get out of a sticky situation when needed.

Thanks in advanced for any and all info!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 10-13-2014, 03:27 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinetsu View Post
Hi everyone,

Just to give a quick intro, I'm a new rider looking to buy my first motorcycle. I will be driving 65 miles a day on the freeway and about 5 a day in the city.