Grips - Harley Davidson Street Forum - Street 500 and 750
User Tag List

 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Flamegirl
  • 1 Post By Solo750owner
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-11-2015, 04:43 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Grips

Does anyone know if you can remove the throttle side grip and reuse the throttle tube?Thanks
paigej7678 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-11-2015, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Flamegirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Garage
I reused mine when I changed out my grips. It was not difficult to do. I don't think I needed to remove the throttle tube to make the change.
10-64 likes this.
Flamegirl is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-13-2015, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Solo750owner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Northern Ozaukee County
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 6 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Garage
I bought another stock throttle tube...its cheap...and installed a Right grip from Kuryakyn Black ISO 6340 (Universal 1 inch) on my Street 750. The grip set came with spacer (insert inside grip) which I had to use a part of cause the grip was longer than stock. Harley Davidson decided to make the throttle tube the size of a 1 inch and then install it on a 7/8th handle bar for the Street 750 and 500. You other option would be to replace the stock throttle tube with a third party one so that you could use almost any 7/8 grips without having one side look lopsided.
10-64 likes this.
Solo750owner is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 12-13-2015, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Irie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: West TN
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
I bought a set of 1" grips on eBay that came with a throttle tube. Then I bought a piece of hose/tube that was 7/8" ID and 1" OD. Put tube on the bars, then grip over tube. Works great!

I was installing new bars, so I left the old grips on the original bars.
Irie is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-14-2015, 12:15 PM
Member
 
Emzdogz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
I bought 1" grips from Lowbrow, one fit over my left bar no prob. The right one had a bigger bore and was a bit hard to get on, but it fits with the stock twist grip tube!
(I made it fit, lol)
Emzdogz is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grips and bars Irie Harley-Davidson Street Parts & Accessories 18 10-18-2016 01:14 PM
New bars and grips Irie Street Appearance & Modifications 2 11-28-2015 09:40 AM
Will these grips work with bar end mirrors... leeskyrme Harley-Davidson Street Parts & Accessories 3 11-12-2015 06:52 PM
Making Kuryakyn ISO grips work on Streets Solo750owner Harley-Davidson Street Parts & Accessories 50 09-30-2015 11:14 PM
grips!!! oandy Harley-Davidson Street Parts & Accessories 9 07-13-2015 06:00 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome