Handlebars - Harley Davidson Street Forum - Street 500 and 750
User Tag List

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 12-22-2016, 12:15 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aussie biker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Perth ,Australia
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Handlebars

I know its probably been discussed but does anyone know what rise you can go to before the clutch cable needs replacing?It looks like the shorter of them all.also photos of new bars would be good.cheers

Sent from my VFD 300 using Tapatalk

Oi oi oi
aussie biker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 12-22-2016, 07:15 AM
Junior Member
 
fifimcfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: New York City
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I'm not handy at all and got a pretty pricey quote from my dealership, I have the same question as I'm going to try and swap them out myself.

ride to live, live to ride
fifimcfly is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 12-22-2016, 07:45 AM
Junior Member
 
Reace90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
I have 8" rise without having to change cables have read somewhere that someone has used 10" apes without changing cables but you would definately have to change cables with 12" apes


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reace90 is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 Old 12-22-2016, 08:17 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aussie biker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Perth ,Australia
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Can you post a pic from the saddle Reace? Hopefully someone will chime in on the 10's.some things I'm sure the dealers are just taking the piss with ,some of their pricing is ridiculous

Sent from my VFD 300 using Tapatalk

Oi oi oi
aussie biker is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-08-2017, 10:04 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aussie biker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Perth ,Australia
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
I thought members with different bars would have shown the rest of us what you've done!! Guess not

Sent from my VFD 300 using Tapatalk

Oi oi oi
aussie biker is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-09-2017, 01:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Propnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 482
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Garage
Now if you do a search on this forum you will find quite a lot on bar replacements, with pictures, from drag bars to hi-rise bars with extended cables. All it takes is patience and some searching through the threads. Since I joined this forum I have been amazed at the out of the box thinking that has inspired some members to produce a very desirable Street.
Solo750owner likes this.

2015 Street 750 Vivid Black
Propnut is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-10-2017, 11:56 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aussie biker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Perth ,Australia
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Oh...patience,that's what I'm missing.cheers mate

Sent from my VFD 300 using Tapatalk

Oi oi oi
aussie biker is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-14-2017, 04:01 AM
Junior Member
 
Reace90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aussie biker View Post
Can you post a pic from the saddle Reace? Hopefully someone will chime in on the 10's.some things I'm sure the dealers are just taking the piss with ,some of their pricing is ridiculous

Sent from my VFD 300 using Tapatalk

Sorry bit late ..




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reace90 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-14-2017, 05:01 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aussie biker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Perth ,Australia
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
Cheers bro.

Sent from my VFD 300 using Tapatalk

Oi oi oi
aussie biker is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 02-02-2017, 07:14 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
aussie biker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Perth ,Australia
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Garage
(Thread Starter)
IMG_20170128_175826.jpgIMG_20170128_175813.jpg
Well thanks for the advice Reece,and thanks to some other person out there who posted the link to Road6customs where I bought this 10 inch bar from.you need to extend some wiring but cables reach by rerouting.

Sent from my VFD 300 using Tapatalk

Oi oi oi
aussie biker is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New handlebars without new cables?? Ricky5445 Harley-Davidson Street Parts & Accessories 6 08-25-2016 04:34 PM
Tools to remove handlebars Slimey Harley-Davidson 750 Street Tech 5 01-20-2016 05:57 PM
Anybody changed handlebars? Nowgfstcat Harley-Davidson Street General Discussion 7 01-11-2016 10:18 AM
Reduced reach handlebars Nowgfstcat Harley-Davidson Street General Discussion 1 09-24-2015 06:39 PM
Clip on Handlebars leeskyrme Street Appearance & Modifications 9 08-31-2015 11:48 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome