Using Craigslist Dyna or Sportster shocks to lower Street 750? - Harley Davidson Street Forum - Street 500 and 750
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-22-2017, 02:10 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Using Craigslist Dyna or Sportster shocks to lower Street 750?

found a set of OEM Sportster shocks, the guy on CL says they are 11.5~12 inches, IDK if that is eye to eye, or including the other end of the mount.

https://columbia.craigslist.org/mpo/6129542349.html

$50, you can't beat that.

is everyone using specific shocks for the Street model, or just Sportie/Dyna shocks?


what about the Tamarack lowering blocks, do they make them yet for the Street?


what is the "Free Spirit" mod for the front end? say it mentioned...but have not found a "how to" yet...
04ctd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-25-2017, 09:21 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
welp.....they do not fit.


the Sporty is ~589 wet, and the XG750 is ~519 wet, so the shock should function in use.


however, the eyelet is too "thick" for the 750 bolt to go thru.


I may go to HD and buy some longer Sporty/Dyna shock bolts, and then use those to mount these Sporty shocks to the 750
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20170525_192943.jpg (73.6 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg 20170525_192709.jpg (252.9 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg 20170525_192713.jpg (250.6 KB, 26 views)
04ctd is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-25-2017, 09:23 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
the top of the 750 shock seemed to be plastic, which is kinda weird?
04ctd is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 06-11-2017, 08:05 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
the Sporty Shock bolts are ~$4.10 each, so $20 to put Sportster/Dyna shocks on your Street 750.

they had the top bolts, but not the bottom, so I did not buy them, plus, the threads seemed bigger, so I will take a Street shock bolt & nut (the lower) with me next time to check the bolt size & thread pitch (most suspension components on HD are made by Showa in Japan and are metric, but IDK about these attaching bolts)
04ctd is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-11-2017, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
It would not be to hard to find bolts grade 8 bolts that should work for another source. It would be interesting to see how it turns out.
smitty901 is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-28-2017, 05:04 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I got the Burly 10.5s but accidentally got the dyna version. The only change I did was longer bolt and everything fit perfectly.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 19451688_10154467724746262_1838476600_o.jpg (208.1 KB, 17 views)
nerdoc is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
From Sportster to Street, or Street to Sportster EGBigelo Harley-Davidson Street General Discussion 11 08-18-2018 07:10 PM
Upgraded Calipers And Lower Controls Drkhall Street Appearance & Modifications 11 11-18-2016 03:57 PM
Any body tried to fit up dyna bags on their street thewhitegorilla Harley-Davidson Street Parts & Accessories 1 05-09-2016 03:54 AM
Street squashes Sportster Sherri Harley-Davidson Street General Discussion 5 03-24-2014 07:29 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome