Harley Davidson Street Forums banner

H-D Phone App

3K views 4 replies 2 participants last post by  PugslyCat01 
#1 ·
Is anybody using the H-D phone app to record rides and such? I picked it up and it seems very similar to how a friend describes the Fusar app. You can record where you ride on a map, participate in challenges to win virtual badges, and do trip planning. It also has search features for restaraunts, gas stations, and of course your nearest chapel.

I haven't used it enough to have any opinion of it. I don't know if it's possible to share the recorded rides with others, which may or may not be useful in this Ride Reports sub forum.

#2 ·
I've been using the H-D phone app for a couple of months now. It seems to be a decent navigation tool. Searching for specific gas stations and restaurants along the route works pretty well.

Where it fails for me is the Riding Challenges feature, which is still in beta testing. Although individual rides seem to track mileage accurately, that doesn't always get transferred to the monthly challenges correctly. Thus I've ridden more miles this month that haven't been counted than have been counted towards the challenge. I've reported this through their app feedback mechanism.

Another shortcoming is that to tell it you want to record a ride is four keystrokes on separate screens if you are using default settings. It's not something you can really start in the middle of a ride. Ending a recording is a similar 4-6 keystrokes on separate screens. That just all seems overly complicated, and may account for some of my rides that didn't get recorded correctly.

#4 ·