Harley Davidson Street Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, as promised, after I got my bike back from the dealer, I started playing around with it. Today I cut a coil from each side of the rear suspension. I was going to yesterday, but I gave up when it started getting dark.

Today I went through with it. Had to build a spring compressor, which took me all of 10 minutes, and had both sides done within 2 hours. Pics to follow.

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
How does this affect the handling and ride quality? I presume, the suspension is much stiffer now?
As far as I can tell, it's unaffected (the spring rate is hardly changing). I did cut about 3/4 of an inch from the bumpstop to make sure that the travel wasn't affected too much. I rode for about 40 miles yesterday, and my butt is still happy!

This isnt a mod for everyone, but I'm happy to be the guinea pig. I was already planning on slamming the suspension once an aftermarket kit comes out. I'm just not impressed with how long its taking the aftermarket to catch up to this bike.

·
Registered
244 Posts
It loos cool but I figure that there must be less give in the suspension and you should probably avoid hitting any speed bumps with too much speed. It does look good though so if you haven't been encountering those problems than more power to you.

·
Registered
490 Posts
I'm just not impressed with how long its taking the aftermarket to catch up to this bike.-quote...

I can certainly agree with this statement. Selection of hand grips is very limited.

·
Registered
120 Posts
I'm just not impressed with how long its taking the aftermarket to catch up to this bike.-quote...

I can certainly agree with this statement. Selection of hand grips is very limited.
Sols750owner if you goggle 7/8" motorcycle grips you will find more options than you could imagine. :)

·
Registered
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·