Harley Davidson Street Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if anyone knows of a non-locking cap that will work with a stock 2015 tank.
Mine keeps vapor locking and NOW I can't even get the key to go all the way into the cap's key hole. It only goes in about half way. So there's no way to remove the cap. I could destroy the cap with an angle grinder and/or Dremel after draining the gas and remove it that way. Yeah, I really really HATE this gas cap. I've been riding for like 30 years and never had anyone steal/siphon my bike dry, so I just don't want a locking cap.
Anyone know of an alternative, non-locking cap?
It could be that when I drain the gas it will UN-vapor lock, but I don't know how that will help the key go in the hole farther. I don't even remember if the key is SUPPOSED to go in all the way in order for it to turn. But it's not budging. I don't want to break off the key.
Any non-locking caps available out there?
Thanks in advance....
:)
PS: see I can't really ride the bike, as it and other possessions of mine are sadly tied up in a sigh...bankruptcy.
I do let it run at idle with a big fan pointing at it sometimes to try and keep the fuel system cleanish

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
So now, I was able to simply pry or "prise" the cap off gently with a flat screwdriver, Then it was still really difficult to install back on the bike. So I'd still really welcome a non locking cap. Otherwise I think I'll try to modify this one somehow, so that at least the lock is defeated, or those 2 little prongs that go in and out with the turning of the key are skinnier. I sure do miss screw on caps.
thx again

·
Super Moderator
2016 Harley-Davidson Street 750 in Sunglo Velocity Red
781 Posts
I did a quick search for "gas caps motorcycle street 750" and found a link to MotocycleID.com. A few of the items specifically state those gas caps are vented.

·
Registered
2 Posts