Harley Davidson Street Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, this is my first time posting since joining. I own a 2018 street rod xg750a, and about a month ago while riding , once the engine was well warmed up I had a relatively major oil leak (approx 100ml from 20 mins of riding) coming from the breather line located on the air filter housing/throttle body. I separated the lines to isolate the leak only to realize that the source of the leak is in fact from both cylinder breather lines!

I've dropped it off at a Harley dealer for them to take a look at it, and so far over a few weeks of them disassembling the engine and inspecting, they have no answers yet.

My question is if anybody has ever experienced a similar issue or has had any similar problems to give me any tips or plans of action, any help would be much appreciated!

·
Registered
294 Posts
That does sound a lot of oil. Mine, and most everyone else's I guess has a small residue in there - this is normal and is caused I believe by a vacuum it is easily cleaned away at service time and will do no harm.
I am surprised that the monkeys at HD have not been able to sort it as the problem is very likely caused by pressure forcing the oil out of the breather?
I am amazed that you say that they had had it for several weeks and would imagine that for 90% of the time the bike has simply been left standing in the corner as this is an issue that can be remedied quite quickly.
The simple issue and I don't wish to insult you is too much oil in the crank? No doubt you checked this so that can be ruled out.Also are you using the correct grade of oil 20w50?
The next thing could be worn rings / valves - again very unlikely. Only usually occurs after very high mileage or engine abuse.
There could also be an air leak in the system (damaged breather pipe / leaking gasket) causing too much air in the crank or finally do you lean your bike excessively into corners?