Harley Davidson Street Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm just curious about people's thoughts on straight pipe. So I had cut the baffle out of the stock muffler and enjoyed how much louder it was and gave me more power, but I disliked how long the exhaust is so now I'm currently running the exhaust straight piped with the cat. Just want to hear some thoughts and recommendations. Mainly I want to keep the shortness I don't want the exhaust to be near the rear axle.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Well as you already have the straight pipe and like the performance it is after all your bike and that should be all that matters.
You state that you like the noise which is good when doing this kind of alteration - a word of caution here however - I have been riding for over 50 years now and my hearing is pretty much non existant, this I have been advised by medical staff is due to me being a complete idiot when I was younger and not protecting my ears when riding noisy bikes! If you want to ride with your bike set up like this just get a set of earplugs - later on in life you will wish that you had!
Good luck and enjoy your ride.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well as you already have the straight pipe and like the performance it is after all your bike and that should be all that matters.
You state that you like the noise which is good when doing this kind of alteration - a word of caution here however - I have been riding for over 50 years now and my hearing is pretty much non existant, this I have been advised by medical staff is due to me being a complete idiot when I was younger and not protecting my ears when riding noisy bikes! If you want to ride with your bike set up like this just get a set of earplugs - later on in life you will wish that you had!
Good luck and enjoy your ride.